Finlandia Prize for Architecture 2017

The winner of the Finlandia Prize for Architecture 2017, selected by Mr Reijo Karhinen, President and CEO of the OP Financial Group, is the Aalto University Harald Herlin Learning Centre. The library building was completed in 1970 to complement the Otaniemi campus design by Alvar Aalto. The renovation of the library building designed by NRT Architects was completed in 2016. The 2017 Finlandia Prize for Architecture was presented to architects Teemu Tuomi and Tuomo Remes today at the awards ceremony at Valkoinen Sali, Helsinki. The interior architecture was created by Päivi Meuronen (JKMM Architects).

The purpose of the Finlandia Prize for Architecture – awarded by the The Finnish Association of Architects (SAFA) –  is to promote the appreciation of high-quality architecture and to highlight the importance of architecture in producing cultural value and increasing well-being.