Pre-selection jury

The the three members of the Pre-Selection Jury and its Chair are appointed by the Executive Board of the Finnish Association of Architects. The Pre-selecton Jury proposes 3-5 candidates, among which the Juror selects the winner of the Prize. The members of the Pre-Selection Jury are appointed for two terms.

Hannu Huttunen

Chairperson of the Pre-selection Jury

Hannu Huttunen (b. 1958) has served as Professor of Housing Design at the School of Arts, Design and Architecture at Aalto University and is a partner in ARK-House arkkitehdit Oy. He has also submitted many successful entries to general and invited design competitions. Huttunen received the Rose of Construction Award of Helsinki City in 2000 (Vikki Info Centre); the State Prize for Architecture in 2002 (ARK-House arkkitehdit); and the Concrete Facade Award in 2007 (As Oy Helsingin Arabianvillat).

Huttunen holds a number of positions of trust in Finland, being a member of the Executive Board of the Finnish Association of Architects, an expert member of the Helsinki City Construction Planning Commission and a member of the National Council of Architecture. Huttunen has also served as the Finnish representative on the European Commission advisory committee on degrees in architecture and in other expert positions in the field of architecture, including as a member of the judging panels of almost 30 design competitions.

Janne Teräsvirta

Janne Teräsvirta (1975) is a Helsinki-based architect. Janne works at a practice titled &’ which he founded in 2016 with Emmi Keskisarja. &’ has worked with cultural building design as well as development of timber structures, sculpture, and artistic research. Additional focus is in developing design methodology. Preceding this Janne worked 10 years as founding partner at Ala Architects ltd, where most notable works are Kilden Performing Arts Centre in Kristiansand, Lappeenranta theatre and the new Helsinki Central library (under construction). Janne has lectured in Finland and abroad, and has been visiting professor in the Chinese University in Hong Kong, CEDIM Monterrey in Mexico, and Columbia University in New York, among other places.

Anne Stenros

Dr Anne Stenros, architect SAFA, is a Creative Strategist on Design Leadership, Future Foresight and Smart Urbanization, acting and speaking around the world. Anne Stenros graduated as Master of Architecture from the Univ. of Oulu and the Univ. of California, Berkeley. She has the doctorate in technology in the field of architectural theory. She has acted as a Managing Director of Design Forum Finland between 1995–2004 and the Executive Director of Hong Kong Design Centre in 2005. In 2005–2015, she was the Design Director at KONE Corporation, a world leading elevator and escalator company. In 2016–2018 she was appointed as the first chief design officer CDO of the city of Helsinki. Currently, she is the founder and CEO of Creative Catalyst, a strategic design consultancy. She has been rewarded with the Top Chief Design Officer (2018) by WIDC and CIDA; the Gold Estlander Medal (2015) and the Gold Medal of the City of Helsinki (2013). She is a founding member of WIT Women in Tech Finland.

Juulia Mikkola

Juulia Mikkola (b. 1968), architect SAFA, is a partner at Livady Architects, who are known for their mission to revive traditional wood construction methods and their expertise in building historical surveys, repair construction design and personally executed restoration work. Their most noted projects include the restoration of Oiva Kallio’s Villa Oivala (2011–2017). Livady Architects are chief restoration designers in several strategically and culturally significant state-owned properties, such as Alikartano in Mäntsälä. The company was awarded the Finnish State Prize for Architecture in 2016. Juulia Mikkola is a member of Rakennusperintö-SAFA (SAFA Building Heritage) and the Association of Finnish Non-fiction Writers. She has co-authored the extensive window renovation guide Ikkunakirja (2011) with her colleague Netta Böök. Juulia Mikkola has served as an expert consultant in compiling the Ministry of Environment guidelines for natural building ventilation (2017–2018) and is a well-known advocate of natural ventilation, solid structures and sustainable building.

Back to top