The Finlandia Prize for Architecture

The purpose of the prize is to promote the appreciation of high-quality architecture and to highlight the importance of architecture in generating cultural value and increasing well-being, as well as to attract broad-based interest in Finnish architecture. The Prize is awarded annually.

Kuvatoimisto Kuvio


The Finland Prize for Architecture was established by the Finnish Association of Architects in 2011. The first ever Finlandia Prize for Architecture was awarded for the Museum of the History of Polish Jews, designed by Finnish Lahdelma & Mahlamäki Architects in 2014. The winner was selected by Sixten Korkman, Professor of Practice in Economics. Since then, the Prize has been awarded annually.

Selection criteria

The Finlandia Prize for Architecture is awarded to an architect or team of architects for the design or redevelopment of a notable new building or group of buildings.

The prize is awarded for buildings of high architectural value even if on a small scale.

The building must be located in Finland or be designed by an architect residing in Finland permanently, and the building must have been completed within three years prior to the award of the prize.

The Finnish Association of Architects

The Finnish Association of Architects SAFA is a non-profit professional organisation engaged in active efforts to promote architecture and high-quality living environments. Established in 1892, SAFA has approximately 3,100 members, all of whom are architects with a university degree. Additionally, SAFA has around 600 student members.

Back to top